Scotsman of My Dreams by Karen Ranney

23739504

Minerva Todd wants answers about what happened to her brother, and she will stop at nothing until she gets them–including breaking and entering into the home of a dashing Earl. Dalton MacIain has returned home from fighting in the American Civil War, blinded by a terrible wound.

Two unlikely individuals join forces to find out just what happened to Minerva’s brother, and who might be interested in harming the Earl…Now if only they can fight their mutual attraction, pride and independence long enough to complete the task at hand and find the truth…

Scotsman of My Dreams, by Karen Ranney is the second in The MacIain series, which is humorous and light hearted, and great for readers who love Tessa Dare or Maya Rodale.

The Brides of Wishmore series by Cathy Maxwell

Book collages1

Cathy Maxwell has two new books out in her brand new Brides of Wishmore series: The Bride Says No, and The Bride Says Maybe. These novels are best read back-to-back, because they feature the inevitable love stories of two sisters, Lady Tara Davidson, and Lady Aileen Davidson. When, once again, the father of these two young ladies has put himself in a dire financial situation, he decides it is time, for once and for all, to put his daughters to good use…By marrying them off, of course. The ladies are heartbroken, but little do they know, true love is on it’s way, and it comes from the most unexpected of places… If you like bodice rippers or historical romance novels with happy endings, and you need a good weekend read, be sure to pick up the new Brides of Wishmore series today!

Rutherford Park by Elizabeth Cooke

rutherford-park-a-novel-by-elizabeth-cooke-x-200

Downton Abbey lovers, don’t miss Rutherford Park, by Elizabeth Cooke! This novel takes place in 1913, when Lady Octavia Cavendish learns a painful secret about her own husband on the same night that a servant in the house attempts suicide. Rutherford Park will never be the same place again as the family struggles to stay together amid turmoil and changing times.

Will Lady Cavendish find happiness for once and for all, or will she settle for what she has always had and accept her fate? Will her son come clean to his parents about his own deep dark secrets? Will her daughter be allowed to marry for love? And what about the servants of the house-will they stay on at Rutherford as things change around them? If you love historical fiction, especially of the early 1900s era, you will adore Rutherford Park.

What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston

14823850

Lady Thorold, recently widowed, left London to become acquainted with her cousin. She has a few drinks with the man, and doesn’t remember anything that happens for the next 12 hours. When she wakes up, she is married to a Scotsman she has never met before and they have spent the night together in a local inn. She promptly knocks him out and makes a run for it, like any respectable woman would do…

As the night’s events begin to come together, she realizes she may need James MacKenzie more than she thought–she may need him to free her from their marriage! But where is this illusive man? In the meantime, MacKenzie is out to find the spitfire of a blond who mesmerized him in the night and left him wondering where his horse and pocketbook have gone! In a very “what happens in Vegas”-like theme, these lovable characters are sent on a scavenger hunt to piece together the evening before and find out how to fix all the damage that they created, which, of course, they don’t remember themselves, but the villagers seem to have observed to great amusement.

This novel is definitely one of the more light-hearted “bodice-ripper” type of books I have read. If you like historical romance, you don’t want to miss this one, which is fun and amusing and perfect for a long soak in a bubble bath or maybe just a cozy rainy day. What Happens in Scotland, by Jennifer McQuiston is unexpectedly enjoyable, and you can expect more posts about this author on my page in the future, I hope.