Perks of Loving a Scoundrel by Jennifer McQuiston

Miss Mary Channing can think of nothing more lovely than an early morning spent in the garden reading a book. She is not perturbed by the prospect of spinsterhood or a life of quiet and solitude. Her sister, unfortunately, is set on making her be social and experience something outside of her small little world.

Mary finds herself called to London and thrown into society unceremoniously. But not before she encounters a drunken Lord in the back garden who can only be a terrible rogue, the likes of which she has only read about in her precious novels.

When Mary finds herself thrown into a conspiracy with the very gentleman she is trying to avoid, and no one will believe them about a possible plot to assassinate a prominent government official or perhaps even a member of the monarchy, Mary Channing’s life takes a very exciting turn, full of ladies of the night, corruption, scandal, duels, espionage and intrigue.

Will Mary survive her London adventures? Can she spend time one on one with a scoundrel Lord with her dignity and virtue intact? If you enjoy novels of the bodice-ripper genre, you will love this amusing, easy weekend read. Perfect for a rainy day in your favorite blanket.

Scotsman of My Dreams by Karen Ranney

23739504

Minerva Todd wants answers about what happened to her brother, and she will stop at nothing until she gets them–including breaking and entering into the home of a dashing Earl. Dalton MacIain has returned home from fighting in the American Civil War, blinded by a terrible wound.

Two unlikely individuals join forces to find out just what happened to Minerva’s brother, and who might be interested in harming the Earl…Now if only they can fight their mutual attraction, pride and independence long enough to complete the task at hand and find the truth…

Scotsman of My Dreams, by Karen Ranney is the second in The MacIain series, which is humorous and light hearted, and great for readers who love Tessa Dare or Maya Rodale.

What a Wallflower Wants by Maya Rodale

20765978

Maya Rodale is one of my favorite smutty romance novelists. Her heroines are always plucky little things, very spirited and cheeky, and her tales are full of comedy and warmth. The “Bad Boys and Wallflowers” series has been a fun collection to sprinkle among my more intense reading choices in the last year or so. What a Wallflower Wants is no exception.

Miss Prudence Merryweather is approaching her 4th year as a debutante, and she is the only graduate of her finishing school to be unwed after so many seasons, much to her mortification…But Prudence has a complicated past and a dark secret that keeps her away from eligible bachelors, until she finds a gentleman who is willing to offer her a marriage of convenience that will solve both of their marriage woes without compromising their mutual secrets. Unfortunately while they are on their way to finally be wed, a highwayman stops their carriage and her deplorable fiancé throws her out of the carriage in offering to the blackguard-and she decides that he is no man she could possibly spend her life with…And she is alone on a country road, with no idea where she is, walking for hours before a handsome gentleman pulls up beside her in his carriage…But can she trust this man? What are his intentions? Is he who he claims to be?

This story is full of fun, the bad guys always get what they have coming, and love always wins….So if you haven’t tried Maya Rodale and you love bodice rippers, pick up her Bad Boys and Wallflower series and you won’t regret the purchase.

It Takes a Scandal, by Caroline Linden

18480594

Abigail Weston has a life of promise in front of her. Her family is “new money” and she has a very promising dowry to make up for her lacking aristocratic background, she hopes to find a suitable (and hopefully devilishly handsome) husband when her father buys a country estate. She is immediately attracted to the brooding, serious neighbor, Sebastian Vane. But she learns that he has a dark past, and much of the town steers clear of him.

Sebastian Vane cannot pretend the lovely new neighbor exists, nor can he deny that he finds her irresistible. But what can he offer a woman who has everything, when he has nearly lost everything in his life?

These two love birds will fight against all odds to make their way to one another…But is their love strong enough to bring them together in the end? It Takes a Scandal is (obviously) a bodice-ripper of the first order. If you like smutty romance novels (you know who you are), then don’t miss Caroline Linden’s latest release.

How to Deceive a Duke by Lecia Cornwall

13507114

I will be the first to admit that when I saw the cover to this book, I thought “OH BROTHER, another cheesy romance novel…” but I was pleasantly surprised the night that I decided maybe some light, silly reading would be just the thing at the end of a long day…Lecia Cornwall’s How to Deceive a Duke was surprisingly fun to read, with just the right amount of cheesy and inevitable love, but some pleasant surprises giving it unexpected originality.

Meg (Marguerite) and her family have lost everything-if her older sister doesn’t marry the rogue, Nicholas Hartley, they will surely be ruined and have to sell off everything they own, and Meg will be forced to provide for the family by seeking employment. When her sister runs away from home at the prospect of marrying an infamous womanizer and all-around rake, Meg does the first thing that comes to mind-she puts on the gown and veil and walks down the aisle herself! The duke is none the wiser and by the end of the day she is a duchess-but what will happen when people learn that she is not the eldest Lynton sister, but the second? And what will it be like to be married to this terror of a husband?

The new duchess is in for a pleasant surprise, however, when she discovers that her womanizing husband is, admittedly, very charming indeed. She finds herself in a very confusing situation. Her duty is to bear an heir into the Hartley blood lines, but when the two of them are locked in a bedroom together, her duties are very little like duties, after all. Very confusing, indeed.

If you like bodice-rippers or historical romance novels, this novel is just what you need for an easy, pleasant read. Don’t be fooled by the cover, this is one of the better romance novels of the year.

Seducing Mr. Knightly by Maya Rodale

Writer Annabelle Swift has been working for a London newspaper for almost 4 years, and she pines for her boss, newspaper editor and owner Mr. Derek Knightly, until she decides that she has waited for his attention long enough. British humor meets bodice-ripper in perfection in this novel,  Seducing Mr. Knightly, by Maya Rodale, which turns out to be the 4th installment in the author’s Writing Girls series. I was actually a little reluctant to read this one, as I have been bombarded by smutty romance novels (my followers know I use the term “smutty romance” with affection and adoration) by publishers in the last couple of months-but luckily the back cover drew me in and I was pleased with the end result.

To any anglophile and romance reader, this author is a must-read. The main character of Seducing Mr. Knightly is surprisingly lovable, and you will find yourself turning page after page, wanting to see where her misadventures will lead. The Hero of the story, the sexy Mr. Knightly, is sexy and brooding (just how we like our heroes) with a dark secret, and just clueless enough about love that the story is warm and playful.

If you like Anna Randol, Cathy Maxwell, Mary Hart Perry, or pretty much just adore smutty romance novels with a british flavor, this novel is perfect for your next weekend read.