Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight

Single mother Kate didn’t have it easy-she struggled daily to balance between her maternal responsibilities and the demands of her career as a successful lawyer. She thought that her daughter Amelia was weathering the strain fairly well, her grades had been good and she never seemed to have behavioral problems. Her private school was one of the best and she had long lasting friendships. Everything seemed ok.

But one day Kate gets a phone call from the school and her life is forever changed. Kate suddenly finds herself desperately trying to pick up the pieces of Amelia’s secret life and get answers to explain the tragedy that took her life.

Strange text messages from a boy Kate had never heard of before, anonymous threatening messages, provocative photos online… Kate is beginning to learn that her daughter was much more troubled than she had ever let on… Not to mention, the school is covering up something serious and the police may be corrupt, too.

Can Kate reconstruct her daughter’s life and figure out what really happened to her? Reconstructing Amelia, by Kimberly McCreight is a mystery/suspense novel of the Girl on the Train persuasion, where nothing is as it seems and people have many secrets. Pick it up today if you like dark, suspenseful mysteries.

img_1867-0

The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford

22571021

Dana Catrell wakes up after a night of drinking with her neighbor friend, only to find that in the night, the woman has been brutally murdered. She was the last known person to see Celia alive, and the police are highly suspicious that she can’t seem to remember clearly what happened the night before. With the pressure of her friend’s death and the suspicion that her husband is having an affair hanging over her, she begins to unravel, losing a little bit of her sanity around every corner. What is real, and what is imagined? Does she really remember her neighbor showing her a picture of her husband with another woman, or is her subconscious just trying to tell her that her husband is a cheater?

The lives of several broken people cross paths in this psychological thriller that will have you reading late into the night. Did Dana kill her friend? Or has she been framed? Can she figure out what happened before she is wrongfully arrested for the crime? Can she trace her own steps? Can she hold on to her sanity long enough to find the truth?

The Pocket Wife, by Susan Crawford, is a psychological thriller in the vein of The Silent Wife or Dark Rooms. The suspense will keep you guessing until the end, and wading through the main character’s unreliable narrative will leave you dying to find out the solution to the mystery. If you like psychological thrillers, The Pocket Wife is for you.

Crystal Falconer
LibraryCrystal
Book reviewer, Librarian, Tech geek wannabe
Crystal Falconer graduated with her B.A. from Western Oregon University, followed by her M.L.I.S. from University of Denver. She was born in Oregon but currently resides in Colorado with her husband, son and trusty canine counterpart.
Boulder, CO
USA
falconercrew@gmail.com

google-site-verification: googleb68d5b5488adb016.html

Dark Rooms by Lili Anolik

22535506

The setting is a New England prep school. Everything seems squeaky clean and controlled from the outside…But there are too many secrets. One night, the unimaginable occurs. Sixteen-year-old Nica Baker is killed, her body found in the nearby cemetery. What reason would anyone have to kill a rebellious teenage girl? Her sister, Grace is determined to find out what happened to her sister, determined to find closure so she can fight her own demons.

The sleepy little prep school is hiding some very toxic secrets, ranging from drugs to sex scandals, possibly even leading to murder and suicide. Can Grace sort out who is responsible for the death of her sister? Can she sift through the unimaginable sordid details and find a common vein? Is the killer still out there? Are her own parents somehow involved?

Dark Rooms, by Lili Anolik, will appeal to readers in the Gillian Flynn genres (Sharp Objects, Dark Places, Gone Girl). Definitely for adults only, definitely dark and heavy suspense, uprooting the most miserable aspects of human nature and revealing all that people try to hide from the world. This suspense novel is a top pick for 2015, so if you are in the mood for creepy, thrilling suspense, order Dark Rooms today. If you are sensitive and prefer more “cozy” mysteries, steer clear.

Heroes Are My Weakness by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

20306788

Annie Hewitt is down on her luck. Her mother passed away, leaving her a secluded island house in Maine, and since Annie is broke and jobless she has no choice but to sort through her mother’s things and decide what to do next with her life. Unfortunately, the island has many bad memories for Annie, mostly attached to the house next door, a giant mansion where her mother was briefly the lady of the house.

Is the current man of the house responsible for her near death as a teen? Is he a sadistic murderer, waiting for his next victim? Or is he just a dark, brooding, reclusive writer with serious sex appeal? The line is getting blurry for Annie, especially when she is very limited on social company…with the exception of her 3 larger-than-life puppets, of course.

I didn’t know what to make of this book at first-I truly thought I was stepping into a serious “unreliable narrator” situation, which is great because I have a penchant for that type of literature. But as the story unfolds, there are others on the island who might not have pure intentions, and evil is lurking in the corners. Annie has to use her humor and wits to shake down the community and figure out just what is going on there on Peregrine Island..And where is the legacy her mother claimed to have left her at the cottage? Does someone else want it, too?

I highly recommend this book for anyone who has a darker sense of humor and a taste for sarcasm. It is a combination of romance, comedy, suspense and drama, all tied together. I plan to read whatever else Susan Elizabeth Phillips has to offer the world, after reading Heroes Are My Weakness. Highly recommended!

Don’t Try to Find Me by Holly Brown

18698861

When a 14-year-old girl disappears, her mother’s worst nightmare is realized. Rachel’s daughter, Marley, left her phone and computer sitting at home, but packed a backpack full of clothing and left a note for her mother which read “Don’t Try to Find Me”. At first, Rachel believes her daughter must have been kidnapped by someone who made her write the note, but the evidence piles high and she is forced to accept that her sweet, average, non-rebellious daughter is a runaway.

Marley is tired of being ignored, tired of being cast aside, tired of being unremarkable to everyone. She wants to start fresh, away from her neurotic mother, her domineering and detached father, her psychiatrist who rejected her when she asked for help, her cruel, self absorbed friends…She wants to be with someone who truly appreciates her. And she thinks she may have found that. Online.

Take a journey through the lives of a family torn apart by social media in every way…This novel is what I would call “Suspense” but it also has a lot of emotional depth as you get deeper and deeper into the very personal thoughts of very ordinary people, when things get very out-of-the-ordinary without any warning whatsoever. I would say that readers of Emily Arsenault and other similar novelists will enjoy Don’t Try to Find Me, by Holly Brown.

Find out if Marley will ever come home…Will she even have an option?

The Woman He Loved Before by Dorothy Koomson

9981618Libby has what every woman wants. She has her career, she has her perfectly wonderful husband Jack, a beautiful home…She is the luckiest woman alive. Until they are in a horrible car accident and everything begins to fall apart around her. She stumbles upon a notebook, the diary of Jack’s late wife, Eve, who died mysteriously a few years back. Libby is starting to question everything in her perfect life, and Eve seems to be everywhere. In the walls, sitting on the furniture, in the wine cellar…Libby must recover from her accident in a home where she feels like a guest, suddenly…And what really happened to Eve? Jack won’t talk about it much, and he still screams Eve’s name in his sleep at night. Can you be with someone who still loves someone else with his whole heart? Is it enough to love him and get respect and consideration in return? Then a nosy police officer keeps poking around the house, harassing the couple. Libby must decide what is happening and what she is going to do…And the climax of this novel will completely blow readers away.

Readers who liked “Gone Girl” will love The Woman He Loved Before, by Dorothy Koomson. This novel will keep readers on the edge of their seats all the way until the end, and the ending is nothing you would EVER expect-take my word for it. The audiobook version of the novel, by Hachette audio, is brilliantly narrated and a terrific choice for your next road trip…If you can handle it.

Bristol House by Beverly Swerling

15811504

Architecture scholar Annie Kendall has just been given an opportunity to re-start her career and work on the project of her dreams : researching the possible existence of a very important Jewish icon during the Cromwell Period. This discovery would be very exciting, because anyone who practiced a religion other than that of the Church of England during this time period was persecuted as a heretic, and an influential Jew who was allowed to flourish during Cromwell’s rule could not have done so without being very, very special…

In the process of her research, however, Annie begins to wonder about the motives of the man who has assigned her the task. Ancient Judaica seems to be the motivation behind the research. Handsome investigative reporter,  Geoff Harris, seems to think that something is pulsing under the layers of intrigue that could take a very dangerous man out of the equation, if he could only get to the facts. The two decide to work together and find solutions to mysteries that have been protected for hundreds of years.

This novel has a touch of romance, is laced with the supernatural (the place where Annie is staying seems to be haunted by a monk with a story to tell), and is loaded with suspense and mystery. If you like books like The DaVinci Code or similar scholarly mysteries, and you like a bit of the supernatural, be sure to give Bristol House, by Beverly Swerling,  a try for yourself!