Finishing School Series by Gail Carriger

Carriger

The Finishing School series, by Gail Carriger, is set in the same world as her previous series, the Parasol Protectorate. The first two books are Etiquette and Espionage, and Curtsies and Conspiracies. The Finishing School Series has been adopted as Teen Fiction but will be enjoyed by anyone who loves to read paranormal fiction.

The heroine of the series is Sophronia Temminnick, a 14 year old girl whose mother wants very badly for her to go to finishing school and learn to become a young debutante and lady of society. Sophronia, however, would much prefer her usual activities : spying on people, climbing the dumb waiter shaft, playing with newfangled inventions…When the headmistress for a finishing school appears with the intention of taking Sophronia away with her, the young woman has very mixed feelings. But Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality is not quite what it seems…The school is actually a training academy for espionage operatives-just for young ladies of course, the boys have their own school.

Sophronia has finally found her calling in life, but there are some mysteries aboard the floating school that she cannot resist sorting out for herself-especially in this new world where she is surrounded by paranormal beings. These novels are very fun, and the audiobooks are really enjoyable too.

 

Paranormal Romance to keep you warm this winter-

Book collages

Cooped up? Hungry for adventure and excitement? Love paranormal romance? Check out these new titles:

Up From the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (Night Huntress series #7)

Vampire Cat Crawfield and her husband, Bones, have just started to relax when the feud between the living and the undead is taken to a new extreme-Will they lose everything and everyone around them in the fight?

Vampire Most Wanted by Lynsay Sands (Argeneau series #20)

Basha Argeneau has done whatever it takes to stay far away from her eccentric family. When black-clad immortal, Marcus Notte, shows up in her life to bring her back into her clan, she is up for the challenge-but does she truly want to evade this sexy stranger, or does she want to be caught, after all?

Wulfe Untamed by Pamela Palmer (Feral Warriors series #8)

Wulfe had a great love, and he gave her up for her own safety. But her life is under threat once again and Wulfe knows he must protect her at all costs-but her memories of him were erased and she won’t even recognize his face when he appears. Can he earn her trust?

If you love to read paranormal romance, this month may be your lucky month, and just in the nick of time-so check them out!

Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell

18089930

Paranormal readers may recall The Blood Gospel, by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell, in which Archaeologist Erin Granger is pulled into an ancient prophecy and a world of vampires, angels, and other supernatural beings she never could have dreamed existed. Innocent Blood is the second installment in this series, called The Order of The Sanguines.

Erin finds that her role in saving the universe is not over-she may still be the “Woman of Learning” in the prophecy, this time she has to prevent the Apocalypse and destruction of the entire earth. She must stop the supernatural being called Iscariot from bringing ruin to the whole of humanity, using her knowledge of ancient biblical history. The old gang from The Blood Gospel is back, holy men from the Vatican, the Warrior-but just to shake things up, she must deal with a psychopathic killer vampire, perhaps the most formidable female in history, natural or supernatural…Elizabeth Bathory, The Blood Countess.

Will they prevail? Find out for yourself if you like reading supernatural fiction, especially if you have a taste for a more “Dan Brown suspense” type of read.

Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost (Night Prince #2)

13125234

Leila and Vlad are back…And there is trouble in paradise. Turns out, it’s not easy being the human girlfriend to one of the most powerful vampire rulers in the world. He’s domineering, chauvinistic, emotionally unavailable…Leila has had enough. She decides that if Vlad the Impaler can’t give her what she needs in a relationship, she’s going to walk away…And she walks right into the hands of his enemies.

Can Leila and Vlad find a way to work out their differences so she can be happy and safe once again? Will the evil forces finally succeed in ending her life or kidnapping her to use her psychic gifts in their favor? Will Leila’s mortal body survive everything she puts it through?

Twice Tempted,  by Jeaniene Frost, is the next book in the Night Prince series, the first of which was called Once Burned. If you haven’t read the first book, it’s highly recommended that you do. Anyone who loves paranormal romance will want to give Jeaniene Frost’s books (she has other series too), a try on for size. Readers who like Pamela Palmer, Lynsay Sands, Kim Harrison, and Laurell K. Hamilton (and many more similar paranormal romance writers) will especially enjoy this series.

The Blood Gospel, Order of the Sanguines

The-Blood-Gospel

Dr. Erin Granger is an archaeologist working on a dig in Israel who gets called in by the Israeli government to help out with a high-priority archaelogical find that has the potential to be very dangerous. The the extent of that danger, however is greater than she ever could have expected. An ancient church order is on a mission to recover an ancient artifact that may have the power to ruin the world, and they can’t do it without her help. Doesn’t sound too bad until she realizes that every supernatural creature seems just as intent on recovering the artifact, which is proclaimed to be the Gospel of Christ, written in his own hand, in his own blood. Suddenly she is thrown into a world of vampires (good and evil), grimwolves, and various other supernatural creatures she once thought the stuff of mythology.

The Blood Gospel, by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell, is a combination of genres that will make readers go wild. The suspense and history of The DaVinci Code meet with the paranormal, bringing vampires and other supernatural creatures into the world of the bible and Christian history, and the secret operations of the Nazis to hoard ancient artifacts and priceless collectibles are sprinkled on the top, just to give it a little flavor. If you love paranormal fiction, intelligent historical novels, archaeology, religious history, or any combination of the above, the Order of the Sanguines Series, of thich The Blood Gospel is the first, is a must-read.

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

Diana Bishop is back in the second installment in the All Souls Trilogy-the first book of which was called A Discovery of Witches and was insanely popular among paranormal romance readers. In Shadow of Night, Diana and the sexy vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont have time traveled back to Elizabethan England to find the famous manuscript, Ashmole 782,  that started the saga in the first novel. Diana and Matthew must get the manuscript to keep it out of the wrong hands, and every supernatural creature wants the book for his kind, and is willing to take out Diana and Matthew in the process-but the hero and heroine are determined to save the supernatural world by preserving the book and the current status quo between the species.

Christopher Marlowe, William Shakespeare, Queen Elizabeth, and MANY other historical figures make their way into the plot of the story, so if you love historical fiction, you will be tickled by the references made and the excellent attention to detail that the author, Deborah Harkness, is well-known for. If you read the first novel, you won’t want to miss the second, and if you haven’t, I suggest you start from the beginning!

Readers who enjoyed The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, by Katherine Howe, and The Witch’s Daughter, by Paula Brackston, will love the A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night. Paranormal romance with a touch of history and elements of magic with hints of time travel….

God Save the Queen by Kate Locke

Paranormal Romance meets Steampunk in the first in the Immortal Empire series, staring Xandra, a Royal Guard for her majesty whose sister has just gone missing. In her determination to find out the truth, this saucy british half-vamp faces Goblins, Werewolves, Vampires, and more…And she can’t quite decide who wants her dead among them. Friends and enemies have so much in common-hunger for human flesh being on the list.

Surprise alliances shake Xandra to her core, and a discovery of a secret underground group set out to overthrow the Aristocracy, a sexy werewolf pack leader, and a very creepy Goblin prince are only the beginning of the head-spinning violence and intrigue that fills the pages of this novel.

If you loved The Parasol Protectorate series, by Gail Carriger, then without a doubt, you should pick up this novel immediately. If you think that a British “Anita Blake” sounds like something you might like to try out, the fantasy world created by Kate Locke is elaborate and well thought-out. If you are not really a fan of either “steampunk” or “paranormal romance” then it probably won’t be your “cup of tea”. Pick up God Save the Queen today, if you think you can handle it!

The audiobook is also an EXCELLENT option for those of you who like to listen to paranormal romance. I listened to it while I was painting my house and enjoyed every minute.

Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost

Paranormal Romance lovers, your prayers have been answered.

Leila is a circus performer with a few special gifts. She is a psychic who can see your worst sin upon physical contact, and she can channel electicity, even to the extent that she can kill with her power. She has lived in relative anonymity, traveling with the circus, where any strange events can be passed off as showmanship and eccentricity.  Her best friend, Marty, is a vampire, and he has been helping to keep her gifts a secret for many years. But one day, Leila meets a couple, and when she brushes against one of them, she realizes that the husband has learned that she is having an affair and intends to murder her and dispose of her body in the wilderness. The crime is prevented, but suddenly she is famous…And this is dangerous for her, especially in vampire communities, where a psychic’s gifts could be put to use helping them to find, and kill, enemies.

In very little time, Leila has been kidnapped by vampires who want to kill the alpha vampire of all vampires, Vlad Tepesh (yes, Vlad the Impaler). She attempts to find him and finds herself talking to him in her thoughts. They have a psychic connection and he agrees to rescue her from her kidnappers…But there’s a catch. She will now be taken into custody by Vlad and his entourage until his enemies have been smoked out and destroyed..For her own safety, of course. So Leila finds herself sleeping in a castle in Romania, surrounded by vampires, and against her own better judgment, finding Vlad the Impaler to be sortof, well, SEXY. She is also finding that he can help her harness her powers and use them as a brutal weapon against enemies.

Before she knows it, Leila has become kindof a badass. And she has revenge in mind against the vampire who wants her for himself. So the hunt begins…

Once Burned is one of the more violent paranormal romance novels I have read, more like Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake books, or Anne Rice’s darker take than Twilight or other more cozy vampire novels. If you don’t like sheer violence, you may be put-out by some of the more gorey details…It’s also very sexy. This novel is the first in Jeaniene Frost’s Night Prince Series. Fanatics, don’t miss this one!

Book Trailer for Once Burned, property of Jeaniene Frost.