The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Vasilisa is the wild and unruly daughter of an aristocratic father in rural Russia. The revered family nurse told folktales and fairy stories to all of the children growing up, and the differences between reality and fairyland blur a bit for the brave, wild heroine.

There are things around their home, in the woods, in the lakes, which Vasilisa quickly learns that no one else can see. She has the sight-and she tries to keep it a secret for the sake of her family’s reputation. The peasants are a superstitious lot, and when a priest settles into the area, Vasilisa’s troubles multiply in the extreme.

Too late, Vasilisa learns that she has some kind of pre-destiny tying her to the demon of Frost and his brother, the Bear. Hard times come upon her village, and she must find a balance between denying her birthright and authentic self, and protecting her family from harm.

Darkness is moving in- and there will be blood to pay. No one is safe.

The Bear and the Nightingale, by Katherine Arden, weaves fantasy and folklore into a story about the harsh terrain that was rural Russia centuries ago. Superstition runs rampant, and demons roam the earth. Vasilisa is strong, valiant, enduring.

If you enjoy magical realism or folklore from around the world , I cannot recommend The Bear and the Nightingale, by Katherine Arden, enough.

Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost (Night Prince #2)

13125234

Leila and Vlad are back…And there is trouble in paradise. Turns out, it’s not easy being the human girlfriend to one of the most powerful vampire rulers in the world. He’s domineering, chauvinistic, emotionally unavailable…Leila has had enough. She decides that if Vlad the Impaler can’t give her what she needs in a relationship, she’s going to walk away…And she walks right into the hands of his enemies.

Can Leila and Vlad find a way to work out their differences so she can be happy and safe once again? Will the evil forces finally succeed in ending her life or kidnapping her to use her psychic gifts in their favor? Will Leila’s mortal body survive everything she puts it through?

Twice Tempted,  by Jeaniene Frost, is the next book in the Night Prince series, the first of which was called Once Burned. If you haven’t read the first book, it’s highly recommended that you do. Anyone who loves paranormal romance will want to give Jeaniene Frost’s books (she has other series too), a try on for size. Readers who like Pamela Palmer, Lynsay Sands, Kim Harrison, and Laurell K. Hamilton (and many more similar paranormal romance writers) will especially enjoy this series.

Paranormal Romance of 2012

13455417136239661310935212754372

Vampires, Werewolves, Angels, Fallen Angels, Demons, Witches, Fairies, Pixies, Gods and Goddesses, the genre of paranormal romance, which took the world by storm some years ago, is still going strong, with a devoted following. Here are some authors and some of their 2012 releases, for those of you who try to keep up.

Kerrelyn Sparks’ Wild About You (Love at Stake #13) brings you Elsa Bjornberg, home renovating TV personality with a family curse brought upon her, and the Were Bear, Howard, who will stop at nothing to have her.

Sable Grace’s Chosen (Dark Breed #3) stars half-vampire, half lychen Kyana, a warrior protecting the earth from supernatural takeover who is in love with a supreme being.

Lynsay Sands’ The Lady is a Vamp (Argeneau #17), in which Vampire Jeanne Louise Argeneau is kidnapped by a man who doesn’t realize just what he’s getting himself into, and the connection between the two becomes more important than anything in the world.

Juliana Stone’s King of the Damned (League of Guardians #2) introduces a fallen Angel, Azaiel, who wants more than anything to atone for his past mis-deeds and comes across sexy Witch, Rowan, bringing them both into a quest to avoid damnation for once and for all.

If you love paranormal romance novelists like Laurel K Hamilton, Kim Harrison, Pamela Palmer, etc, and you haven’t tried one or all of these authors, be sure to give them a sampling and decide if they will be your next paranormal romance obsession!